The beauty of music

Imagebrahms

Thursday  23rd   January 2014

Tonight  I was fortunate enough to have a ticket to see Helene Grimaud.   The concert was held  at the Royal  Festival  Hall and the programme  was Brahms Piano Concerto No 2,  followed by the Royal Philhamonia Orchestra playing Brahms Symphony No 4.    As  the    first half began,  you could hear the beautiful sound of both the superb piano and pianist,  as well as the very fine orchestra.  I was captivated by  both the  music of such a wonderful composer and  by those fortunate enough to play Bahms’s music.    I  cannot help but love the beautiful strong dynamics as the piano is played, which goes through your body as you listen.

The second half of the evening’s performance, was something quite different to anything I  had heard before.   Of course,  I knew the music but knowing the music and hearing it played live are two different things.   There is something very special about live music, and  I have to say that the particular symphony  that was played was I think one of  Brahms’s most beautiful pieces,  which had me transported into another world.    It is as if  I was no longer sitting in the hall with everyone around me.   A truly memorable evening all around, and one that will not be forgotten for quite a while.

Aside

Leave a Reply

